Virtual Assistant Scam - International Auctioneers Group

By Lisa Taglia, Virtual PA.

Recently I received the following email:

International Auctioneers Group provides business support, retail distribution, franchise operations, direct sales, and a variety of auction as well as accounting and billing services.

We are currently recruiting for the positions of Virtual Office Assistants in Australia and New Zealand, part-time and full-time available. The positions focus on providing administrative assistance in online sales.

Part-time and full-time positions available:

Part-time: Three hours per day during either one of these shifts:
9:00am-12:00pm 11:00am-2:00pm 12:00pm-3:00pm 2:00pm-5:00pm

Full Time: Six hours per day during either one of these shifts:
9:00am-3:00pm 11:00am-5:00pm

Salary:
Part-time: $1,200/month plus commission
Full-time: $2,400/month plus commission

Professional Qualities:
- Customer focused decision maker
- Demonstrates a high level of personal accountability
- Thinks about the team first over personal agendas
- Learning adaptive
- Process driven

Basic Requirements for Virtual Office Assistant:
- Internet Access
- Microsoft Office
- Basic Accounting skills

If interested in the offer please submit your resume to xxxxx@iagcareers.com

Regards
IAG Team

Hmm, the scam radar shot up here!

“Accounting and billing services” is a rather nice euphemism for”money laundering” and “ripping people off” - usually. No offence to the accounting industry! However, as I’ve said before on this blog, you must be EXTREMELY WARY if approached to transfer money on other people’s behalf. It usually ends in tears. Read more about this in my other post about Virtual Assistant scams.

I know this email targets Australia and New Zealand, but watch out, because these kinds of emails have a habit of ‘morphing’ themselves and targeting other countries.

A quick Google search confirmed my suspicions. ‘International Auctioneers Group’ is actually a group of auction houses, using the abbreviation of ‘IA’, not ‘IAG’. In fact, ‘IAG’ stands for Insurance Australia Group, which is another company entirely.

These scammers have ‘cleverly’ registered a domain name by adding the word ‘careers’ at the end of ‘iag’ - to lull you into a false sense of security.

A quick search on www.whois.com reveals that the domain was created on the 7th July 2008. Another obvious sign - a newly created domain for a supposedly established and thriving company.

The above research tips should help you in the future when checking into other companies you’re not sure about.

You have been warned!

Of course, if anyone has evidence that this is legitimate, please DO get in touch. I expect silence, though.

However, your comments are welcome, as usual!

UPDATE:
I ‘applied’ for the position without sending through a resume, of course.

I was offered the job on the spot - the email even thanked me for sending through a resume! So they didn’t even notice I hadn’t sent one! I now have a full employment contract in hand, detailing the money ‘transferring procedures’ and requesting my full bank details.




You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.